Tag Archives: Alumni

Alumni Reception at NMD-ATM 2015

Thanks to our alumna Dr. Dheepa Srinivasan’s initiative, we all had a great Alumni Reception at this year’s NMD-ATM at Coimbatore on the 15th of November 2015. This is the third year in a row for this event, and it’s safe to say that it has become a tradition!

It was absolutely wonderful that quite a few of our current students could join us at this year’s Alumni Reception.

Here is a group photograph from the event.

Next year’s NMD-ATM will be held in Kanpur. We look forward to yet another alumni gathering there.

Congratulations to …

This year’s National Metallurgists Day Celebrations held on 14 November 2015 at Coimbatore saw a colleague and several alumni winning several awards. Our hearty congratulations to:

  • Prof. K. Chattopadhyay for winning the IIM Platinum Medal.

  • Prof. B.S. Murty (PhD-1992; now with IIT-M), for winning the IIM – G.D. Birla Gold Medal.

  • Dr. Dinesh Srivastava (PhD-1997; now with BARC) for winning the Metallurgist of the Year Award in Metal Sciences.

  • Prof. Nilesh Gurao (PhD-2011; now with IIT-K) for winning the Young Metallurgist of the Year Award in Metal Sciences.

Alumni Dinner during the 2014 NMD-ATM in Pune

Update: The response has been great! You can find the list of confirmed participants at the end of the post. It’ll keep getting updated.

* * *

Following up on the successful Alumni Dinner that we had during last year’s NMD-ATM in Varanasi, we are planning a similar event during this year’s NMD-ATM in Pune. This will offer a wonderful opportunity for our alumni to re-connect with fellow alumni, as well as with current faculty and students.

Please mark your calendar for the evening of Wednesday, the 12th of November, 2014. St. Laurn Hotel is the venue for the dinner. Here’s the full address:

St. Laurn Business Hotel
15 A, Koregaon Road
Pune 411001
St. Laurn Business Hotel is about 6 km from the College of Engineering – Pune (COE-P), which is the Conference venue — consult the map for directions).

The cost will be in the range of Rs. 900 to Rs. 1000 per person.

This is a call to request all our alumni who are delegates at NMD-ATM, as well as our alumni in the Pune-Mumbai region, to join us at the Dinner.

Please send your RSVP as soon as possible (and in any case, latest by Friday, the 7th of November) to abinand@materials.iisc.ernet.in.

* * *

Update: Confirmed participants

  • Dheepa Srinivasan (GE-Bangalore)

  • Vinay Jain (TCS-Pune)

  • Rishabh Shukla (TCS-Pune)

  • T.A. Abinandanan (IISc-Bangalore)

  • G. Phanikumar (IIT-Madras)

  • K. Ravi Sankar (IIT-Madras)

  • Ashutosh Gandhi (IIT-Madras)

  • M.P. Gururajan (IIT-Bombay)

  • N.N. Viswanathan (IIT-Bombay)

  • Seshadri Seetharaman (KTH, Sweden)

  • Sundar Daniel (IIT-Roorkee)

  • K. Chattopadhyay (IISc-Bangalore)

  • S. Srikanth (NML, Jamshedpur)

  • S. Manjini (JSW Steel, Hospet)