Category Archives: Alumni Affairs

Prof. Rajeev Ranjan and Prof. Abhik Choudhury win NMD Awards

Hearty congratulations to Prof. Rajeev Ranjan for winning this year’s Metallurgist of the Year award, and to Prof. Abhik N. Choudhury for the Young Metallurgist of the Year award (both in Metal Sciences). They received these awards during this year’s National Metallurgists’ Day celebrations on 14 November 2018 during the annual meeting of the Indian Institute of Metals (IIM) in Kolkata.

We are delighted that this year’s NMD award winners list featured two of our alumni as well: Dr. Sanak Mishra (BE, 1968) received the Lifetime Achievment award, and Dr. Divakar Ramachandran (PhD, 2001) received the Metallurgist of the Year award in Metal Sciences. Further, this year’s list of IIM honours and awards features Dr. P. Ramesh Narayanan (PhD, 2011), who has been selected this year as a Fellow of the Indian Institute of Metals.

The full list of NMD award winners is here (local copy). And the list of IIM awards and honours is here (local copy).

K P Abraham Memorial Fund

An Appeal to Alumni and well wishers

The Indian Institute of Science and the Department of Materials Engineering announce the launch of the KP Abraham Memorial Fund. We aim to generate a corpus of at least Rs. 2 crores that will serve the twin objectives of partially equipping laboratories in our new building and of endowing a visiting faculty chair.

Professor Kadavil Poulose Abraham (1920-2011) served the department for  21 years, including the period 1972-1977 when he was the fourth Head of the Department. As a teacher, Professor Abraham inspired many generations of students through his lectures on thermodynamics and extractive metallurgy. His teaching covered both iron & steel and nonferrous metals. He helped establish laboratories in Process Metallurgy, some of which were pioneering in the Indian scene.  When that generation of alumni reflects on the solidity of the fundamentals with which they left IISc, it is in large part a testimony to the academic excellence that Professor Abraham nurtured. His students went on to become leading metallurgists and materials scientists, both, in academic institutions as well as in industry, in India and abroad. In launching this appeal, the Institute and the department, where he spent the major part of his working life, would like to pay tribute to his accomplishments in laying the foundations for what has now become a vibrant centre for teaching and research in the field of materials in India.

The present appeal follows our earlier tribute to Professor Brahm Prakash, the first Indian Head of the Department, which saw the establishment of the Prof Brahm Prakash Visiting Chair and Prof Brahm Prakash Laboratory by generating resources of the order of Rs 1 crore from Government institutions, alumni, and well wishers, nearly 2 decades ago.

The department has just commenced the construction of a 4-storeyed building which will house about 2500 square metres of laboratories, classrooms and offices to accommodate our expanding needs that arise from a research student strength that now exceeds 110, a new Undergraduate programme, in addition to the traditional Masters and in the diversification of our research interests to include electronic materials, polymers and bio-engineering. The KP Abraham Chair Professorship will add to existing chairs to enable distinguished scientists to spend significant periods of time at IISc.

We invite alumni and well-wishers to contribute generously to the fund (Contributions received so far Rs.70.20 Lakhs, for details Click here). Cheques may be drawn in favour of Registrar, Indian Institute of Science – KP Abraham Memorial Fund. Donations from Indian citizens will attract Tax relief to the extent of 100% of the donation without limit under section  35(i)(ii) OR sec 80G(2)(a)(iiif). Wire transfer details are given below:

Name of institution: Indian Institute of Science
Name of Bank: State Bank of India, IISc Branch, Bangalore 560012, India
Account Name: Registrar, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore 560012
Account Number: 317 280 981 70
Swift Code: SBI NIN BB 425
MICR Code: 560002020
IFSC Code Number: SBIN 000 2215
IISc PAN Number: AAATI 1501 J
IISc TAN Number: BLRI 00710D

Abinandanan TA
Chairman, Department of Materials Engineering
Indian Institute of Science, Banagalore 560012, India

Alumni Reception at NMD-ATM 2017 in Goa

This year’s edition of NMD-ATM, the flagship event of the Indian Institute of Metals, will be held in Goa (in BITS-Pilani, Goa Campus) during 11-14 November 2017.

As we did in the previous years — IIT-BHU (2013), Pune (2014),  Coimbatore (2015), IIT-Kanpur (2016) — we are organizing an Alumni Reception during NMD-ATM this year as well. This subscription (Rs. 1,500; please bring change!) event is scheduled for the evening (6:30 p.m. onwards) of Sunday, 12 November 2017 in Bogmallo Beach Resort.

The Bogmallo Beach Resort is about 7 Km from the BITS-Pilani, Goa Campus. The recommended transport Ola / Uber / Auto, which should take no more than 13 mins from the conference venue. Ask / look for “IISc-Met Alumni reception”.

21 Jan 2017 : Metallurgy Reunion

Following the traditions set by the seniors, the three batches of students of the Metallurgy Department graduated in 1965, 1967 and 1968 are collectively planning a reunion on January 21, 2017. They will be in the Dept. of Materials Engineering. Students and faculty of the Department can take this opportunity to meet with the alumni and share their experiences.

Alumni Day at IISc on 17 December 2016

The Institute is pleased to invite all its alumni back to our beautiful campus to join the Alumni Day Celebrations on Saturday, the 17th of December 2016. This is going to be the first of what is being planned as an annual event.

The individual Departments will put together a program for the morning of these day-long celebrations; the afternoon will feature an Institute-wide event in the Satish Dhawan Auditorium.

This is the first announcement to alert our alumni to mark their calendars, and to include these Celebrations in their Bangalore visit plans. We will come back with more information (and a detailed program) in due course.

We request you to inform your fellow alumni about this event.

And, we look forward to your participation in the Alumni Day Celebrations!