Professor Brahm Prakash Visiting Chair

Brahm Prakash was born on 21 August 1912 at Lahore. He obtained his B.Sc.(Hons.) degree in 1932, M.Sc. in 1934 and Ph.D. in physical chemistry in 1942 from the Punjab University. Subsequently, he obtained his Sc.D. in Metallurgy from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, U.S.A in 1949. After returning to India he served at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore from 1951 to 1957, at the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Bombay from 1957-1972 and at the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Trivandrum from 1972 to 1982. While the tasks at these institutions called for different skills, they all posed challenges of a high order. Dr. Prakash discharged them with distinction and has left a rich legacy of scientific and administrative leadership.

At the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, Professor Brahm Prakash was the first Indian Head of the Department of Metallurgy. He laid the foundations for an excellent centre for metallurgical education and research in the country.

In order to commemorate the services of Professor Prakash, the community of metallurgists and materials scientists and technologists has taken several steps:

  1. A Professor Brahm Prakash Chair has been endowed at the Indian Institute of Science.
  2. A Professor Brahm Prakash Medal has been instituted at the Department of Metallurgy to be awarded to the best graduate student.
  3. A memorial lecture series has been arranged since 1985 by the Bangalore Chapter of IIM. The Trivandrum Chapter of IIM has also instituted a similar lecture series.
  4. The Kalpakkam Chapter of IIM conducts the Prof. Brahm Prakash Materials Quiz for school students (12th standard).
  5. The Indian National Science Academy (INSA) has instituted the Prof. Brahm Prakash Medal to be awarded for significant contributions in the area of materials science and engneering.

Here’s the list of scholars who have visited the Indian Institute of Science as Prof. Brahm Prakash Visiting Chairs (we will keep updating this list)

  1. Prof. David P. Field, Washington State University, USA (2016)
  2. Prof. Jian-Zhang Jiang, Zhejiang University, China (2016)
  3. Prof. Kannan M. Krishnan, University of Washington, USA (2016)
  4. Prof. Tamas Ungar, Eötvös University, Budapest, Hungary (2015)
  5. Prof. Yunzhi Wang, The Ohio State University, Ohio, USA (2014)
  6. Prof. Narendra B. Dahotre, University of North Texas, Texas, USA (2014)
  7. Prof. Do Hyang Kim, Yonsei University, South Korea (2013).
  8. Prof. Llorca Martinez, Polytechnic University of Madrid, Spain (2013)
  9. Prof. Ganpati Ramanath, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, NY, USA (2013)
  10. Prof. Lars E. Arnberg, Norwegian University of Science & Technology, Norway (2012).
  11. Prof. John Banhart of Helmholtz-Centre, and Technical University, Berlin, Germany (2012).
  12. Prof. A.D. Rollett, Carnegie Mellon University, USA (2011-12).
  13. Prof. S. Chandrasekar, Purdue University (2010).
  14. Prof. Tanguy Rouxel, Universite de Rennes, France (2010)
  15. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Eggeler, Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany (2009).
  16. Prof. Subhash Mahajan, Arizona State University, USA (2007).
  17. Prof. R. Ramesh, Univ. of California, USA (2005-06).
  18. Prof. Subra Suresh, MIT, Cambridge, USA (2004).
  19. Prof. Subhash Chander, Penn State University, USA (2003).
  20. Prof. Brij M. Moudgil, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA (2001).
  21. Prof. T.R. Anantharaman, National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi, India (2000).
  22. Prof. R.R. Tummala, Georgia Institute of Technology, Georgia, USA (2000).
  23. Prof. S. Ashok, Penn State University, USA (1996).
  24. Prof. A.K. Mukherjee, University of California, Davis, USA, (1994).
  25. Prof. M.A. Dayananda, Purdue University, Lafayette, USA (1992).
  26. Prof. P. Somasundaran, Columbia University,New York, USA (1990).