Tag Archives: NMD-ATM

Alumni Reception at NMD-ATM 2016 [Updated]

[Update (7 November 2016): The Alumni Reception at 6 p.m. on 12.11.2016 will be held in the lawns of Prof. Ashish Garg’s residence inside IIT-K campus. Volunteers will help you find your way to the venue; also, we will organize transport to take you back to your place of stay.

There is a cover charge for the Alumni Dineer. It is Rs. 3,000 per person for alumni, and Rs. 1,000 per person for current students of our Department. Money left over after meeting all the expenses will go to the K.P. Abraham Memorial Fund.

We thank Professors Ashish Garg (ME, 1998) and Nilesh Gurao (PhD, 2010) for all their help!]

* * *

This year’s edition of NMD-ATM, the flagship event of the Indian Institute of Metals, will be held in IIT-Kanpur during 11-14 November 2016.

As we did in the previous years (Pune-2014, Coimbatore-2015), we are organizing an Alumni Reception during NMD-ATM this year as well. This subscription event is scheduled for the evening (6 p.m. onwards) of Saturday, the 12th of November, 2016. The venue will be announced in due course.

This is a call to all our alumni participants at NMD-ATM 2016 to join us at the Reception.

If you are planning to attend, please send a mail to alumnus[at]materials.iisc.ernet.in giving us the following details. In order to enable us to get a good handle on the numbers, we request you to send this mail well before the deadline of the 31st of October, 2016 :

  1. Name
  2. IISc Degree(s) and year(s)
  3. Mobile / phone number
  4. Current official address

The subscription for the reception is fixed at Rs. 3,000/- (the payment details will appear on this page soon); any surplus will be donated to the Prof. K.P. Abraham Memorial Fund, for which a fund-raising drive is already underway. So, larger contributions than Rs. 3,000/- are certainly welcome!

We are doing everything we can to reach out to all the alumni whose contact details are available with us. We seek your help in spreading the word about the Reception among your fellow alumni.

See you all in Kanpur!

Alumni Reception at NMD-ATM 2015

Thanks to our alumna Dr. Dheepa Srinivasan’s initiative, we all had a great Alumni Reception at this year’s NMD-ATM at Coimbatore on the 15th of November 2015. This is the third year in a row for this event, and it’s safe to say that it has become a tradition!

It was absolutely wonderful that quite a few of our current students could join us at this year’s Alumni Reception.

Here is a group photograph from the event.

Next year’s NMD-ATM will be held in Kanpur. We look forward to yet another alumni gathering there.

Congratulations to …

Students from our Department have won several awards in this year’s Annual Technical Meeting of the Indian Institute of Metals (held during 15-16 November 2015 at Coimbatore). Our hearty congratulations to:

  • M.S. Bhaskar for winning the P.K. Dasgupta Prize for the best paper presentation in the Ferrous Division.

  • Shalaka Shinde for winning the Second Prize for Oral Presentations in the Metal Sciences Division.

  • Devi Lal for winning the Second Prize for Poster Presentations in the Metal Sciences Division.

Alumni Dinner during the 2014 NMD-ATM in Pune

Update: The response has been great! You can find the list of confirmed participants at the end of the post. It’ll keep getting updated.

* * *

Following up on the successful Alumni Dinner that we had during last year’s NMD-ATM in Varanasi, we are planning a similar event during this year’s NMD-ATM in Pune. This will offer a wonderful opportunity for our alumni to re-connect with fellow alumni, as well as with current faculty and students.

Please mark your calendar for the evening of Wednesday, the 12th of November, 2014. St. Laurn Hotel is the venue for the dinner. Here’s the full address:

St. Laurn Business Hotel
15 A, Koregaon Road
Pune 411001
St. Laurn Business Hotel is about 6 km from the College of Engineering – Pune (COE-P), which is the Conference venue — consult the map for directions).

The cost will be in the range of Rs. 900 to Rs. 1000 per person.

This is a call to request all our alumni who are delegates at NMD-ATM, as well as our alumni in the Pune-Mumbai region, to join us at the Dinner.

Please send your RSVP as soon as possible (and in any case, latest by Friday, the 7th of November) to abinand@materials.iisc.ernet.in.

* * *

Update: Confirmed participants

  • Dheepa Srinivasan (GE-Bangalore)

  • Vinay Jain (TCS-Pune)

  • Rishabh Shukla (TCS-Pune)

  • T.A. Abinandanan (IISc-Bangalore)

  • G. Phanikumar (IIT-Madras)

  • K. Ravi Sankar (IIT-Madras)

  • Ashutosh Gandhi (IIT-Madras)

  • M.P. Gururajan (IIT-Bombay)

  • N.N. Viswanathan (IIT-Bombay)

  • Seshadri Seetharaman (KTH, Sweden)

  • Sundar Daniel (IIT-Roorkee)

  • K. Chattopadhyay (IISc-Bangalore)

  • S. Srikanth (NML, Jamshedpur)

  • S. Manjini (JSW Steel, Hospet)